Stream directly from Tidal

Hi All,
I’m new to the streaming world.
Can you please tell me if there is a difference in sound quality if I stream directly from the Tidal app running on my phone to my arcamsa30 versus using the Arcam Music life app to stream Tidal to my amp?

Thanks

Yes, there is a difference.
At the moment only way to stream directly to SA30 i using Chromecast, which does not support MQA.
Streaming using MusicLife (or other UPNP apps) has no such limitation, hence you’re getting full quality.
We’re hoping, that one day Arcam will implement Tidal Connect, which will allow us to overcome this limitation and stream directly with full quality.

7 Likes

Same for Qobuz by the way

2 Likes

Does airplay 2 streaming support MQA?

Airplay does not send mqa, it transcodes what it is given to AAC and then sends to the receiving device. It’s locked in at 16 bit 48khz AFAIK, so anything pretty much above CD quality is also downsampled

So you can Airplay anything from the Tidal app, you just have to bear that in mind.

Thanks Felix, I started using MconnectLite and it’s working better for me than the Musiclife app did. Amp now showed MQA when I press ‘info’ on the Arcam remote. Sounds good too/

1 Like

The web client through the browser will also give you full high resolution of what is available.

2 Likes

Yes, but Qobuz is not using MQA, and Chromecast (if that’s what you’re using) is capable of 24 bit 96 kHz, so you’re not missing THAT much (don’t know how many 192 kHz tracks are there in Qobuz - not available in my country). In case of Tidal you’re missing a lot, as without MQA it’s just CD quality (or even a bit worse, if to believe what some people are saying about this format).

Yes technically MQA is not lossless despite what Tidal say and despite the bit depth and sample rate. Some artists even have decided to come off the platform as they don’t like the fact the consumer is not getting the sound they intended to be heard.